Raja Yoga for Beginners

There are eight steps in Raja Yoga. These steps are:

Yama. Yama consists of abstentions or moral disciples. These include abstention from violence, abstention from lying, abstention from theft, abstention from sexual activity and abstention from possessions.

Niyama. Niyama consitsts of observances or self-disciplines. These include purity, contentment, austerities, study and surrender to God.
Asana relates to the postures of the body.

Pranayama involves control of the breath, or prana.

Pratyahara involves sensory withdrawal.

Dharana focuses on concentration, or fixing the attention on a single object.

Dhyana relates to meditation.

Samadhi relates to transcendence (that is a super-conscious state or trance).